Search for a story:

Local artists nominated for gospel awards

Entertainment - Date: 26 November 2018

Written by: Kaizer Nengovhela / Viewed: 6399


The Meropa Hotel Conference Centre was packed by musicians, representatives of the various provincial departments, sponsors, community and the media fraternity during the announcement of the final nominees for the Limpopo Gospel Awards a fortnight ago.

The organiser, Mr Augustine Nethononda, said that the event was a strategic platform created to celebrate, reward and recognise the rich heritage of gospel music in the province. He added that, over decades, Limpopo had always produced top artists in this genre who featured prominently on various national platforms.

“Given the diversity of our province, this legacy needs to be celebrated while we focus on bringing new talent to the fore,” he added.

Mr Gezani Mabunda, Chief Director: Cultural Affairs in the provincial Department of Sport, Arts and Culture, said that government had limited resources, which made it almost impossible to reach all the artists. He expressed appreciation towards the project, because it collaborates with government policy.

“We would like to encourage all our local artists to continue working hard and produce quality music, so that we can see more artists from our province dominating at the national level,” he added

The nominees for the best gospel newcomers are: King Music Seasons, Mateam Love, Sandra Makokoka, Masana & Phathu and Tsakani Khani.

Best Amazon/Traditional gospel: Isaac Mbhedli, Naphy, TLT Apostolic group, Balatedi Ba Morena, Mynah rams and Mbavhalelo MMM.

Best gospel praise song: Glenda Koka, Kay Rali, Phuluso Thenga, Pastor Rudolph Mabasa, Secret of Worship.

Best gospel worship song: Kgaogelo Kekane, Masana & Phathu, Ndivhaleni Musetha, Phuluso Thenga and Thabelo Netshiunda.

Best gospel collaboration song: King D music featuring Takie, Thabelo Netshiunda featuring Phuluso, Kgaogelo Kekana featuring Takie, Itani featuring Tsiko and Jeremiah Mudau featuring Rofhiwa Manyanga.

Best male gospel artist: Pastor Rudolph Mabasa, Urban Matjila, Phuluso Thenga, Peter Labelo and Itani Venda Boy.

Best female gospel artist: Glenda Koka, Kgaogelo Kekana, Mmatema, Newie and Thabelo Netshiunda.

Best gospel album of the year: Mmatema, Glenda Koka, Kgaogelo Kekana, Phuluso Thenga and Pastor Rudolph Mabasa.

Best gospel artist of the year: Kgaogelo Kekana, Newie, Pastor Rudolph Mabasa, Thabelo Netshiunda and The Living Rock.

The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, 1 December 2018, in the Jack Botes Hall in Polokwane. Tickets for the event are available at Computicket and Shoprite/Checkers nationwide.

The 2018 Limpopo Gospel Music Awards is funded by the National Lotteries Commission of South Africa and sponsored by Limpopo Tourism Agency and the Limpopo Department of Sport, Arts and Culture.



To leave a comment you need to login / register first

Readers are encouraged to comment on articles and express their opinion. The views expressed by readers should in no way be perceived as necessarily that of the newspaper or its staff members. Comments may be pre-moderated by our team and if found offensive, be removed.

When commenting, please respect others. Be polite to all the members of our community, including other commenters, authors and the subjects of articles. We believe strongly that the Zoutnet group of websites should be a safe and welcoming space for all individuals, groups and their ideas. As such, any rudeness, insults, hate speech, hostility, or language that incites racism or unfair discrimination may be removed and you may lose your ability to comment. 

Phathu & Masana.



Kaizer Nengovhela

Kaizer Nengovhela started writing stories for Limpopo Mirror more than a decade ago, in 2 000. Prior to that he had a five year stint at Phala-Phala FM as sports presenter. In 2005 Kaizer received an award from the province's premier as Best Sports Presenter. The same year he was also nominated as Best Sports Reporter by the Makhado Municipality. Kaizer was awarded the Mathatha Tsedu award in 2014.


Recent Articles