Search for a story:

Cash prizes in Boy Nemakonde Tournament

Sport - Date: 01 June 2019

Written by: Frank Mavhungu / Viewed: 463


The seventh edition of the Boy Nemakonde KO competition was officially launched during a ceremony at the Begwa Brickyard last Sunday evening.

Just like in the previous years, eight teams from Tshaulu and the surrounding areas will take part in the annual event. Teams that will fight for the championship in this year’s tournament are: Tshilonwe Young Bombers, Mulindathavha Ocean Swallows, Tshamutshedzi Water Sand, Buluni Happy Boys, New Discovery, Munangwe United Brothers, Tshaulu Hungry Lions and Belavhathu FC.

According to one of the organizers, Mr Eric Murudi, the quarter-final matches will be played on Saturday, 22 June, and the final on Saturday, 6 July. All the matches will be played at the Tshifudi Stadium.

This year’s champions will walk away with a cash prize of R15 000, a floating trophy, soccer kit and six soccer balls. The runners-up will go home with R1500, soccer kit and six soccer balls.

The third-placed team will receive R1 000 and six soccer balls, while the team booted out of the competition in the losers’ final will receive six soccer balls. Teams that will be booted out of the competition in the quarter-final stage will each receive a consolation prize of two soccer balls.

The toss for the quarter-final matches was conducted during the official launching ceremony last Sunday. The quarter-final fixtures are: Tshilonwe Young Bombers vs Tshaulu Hungry Lions, Mulindathavha Ocean Swallows vs Tshamutshedzi Water Sand, Munangwe United Brothers vs New Discovery and Belavhathu FC vs Buluni Happy Boys.

Begwa United Brothers are the defending champions. A local resident, Mr Boy Nemakonde, is the sole sponsor of the tournament.



Frank Mavhungu

Frank is a Human Resources Manager at the Department of Public Works in Limpopo. He is the longest serving correspondent of the Mirror, having joined us at the end of 1990.  He mainly writes sports reports and resides at Tsianda Village. In 2004, Frank won the National Castle League Award, an award for the best reporter in the SAB league in South Africa.


Recent Articles